Janacek: Idyll; Suite for Strings; Sinfonietta; Taras Bulba

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

LABELS: Chandos
WORKS: Idyll; Suite for Strings; Sinfonietta; Taras Bulba
PERFORMER: Czech PO/Jirí Belohlávek
CATALOGUE NO: CHAN 241-7 Reissue (1990-93)
This well-filled issue offers the major part of Janácek’s orchestral music including the early, somewhat rough-hewn, Idyll and Suite for Strings in idiomatic, sensitive performances by Gregory Rose and the Jupiter Orchestra. Belohlávek and the Czech Philharmonic’s renditions of the remainder are also very enjoyable. At times the Sinfonietta a little too relaxed, but the orchestral playing is always characterful and the finale has terrific impetus. A similar care over detail informs The Fiddler’s Child, Talich’s and Smetácek’s orchestral distillation of the most picturesque parts of The Cunning Little Vixen and a blazingly convincing account of Taras Bulba. Jan Smaczny