Mendelssohn; Brahms

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Mendelssohn; Brahms
LABELS: Warner
WORKS: Violin Concerto; Double Concerto
PERFORMER: Itzhak Perlman (violin), Yo-Yo Ma (cello); Chicago SO/Daniel Barenboim
CATALOGUE NO: 2564 69366-8 Reissue (1993/6)


Live recordings (rather strident on top), featuring two highly charismatic soloists in overdrive, backed by the Chicagoans in full cry with a blazing intensity that slightly overwhelms. Julian Haylock