Satie: Parade; Relâche,

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

WORKS: Parade; Relâche,
PERFORMER: Orchestre des Concerts Lamoureux/Yutaka Sado
CATALOGUE NO: 8573-85827-2
After the compulsory Gymnopédies, this turns out to be an above average Satie collection. Parade is performed with relish and a healthy dose of anarchy, with no attempt being made to blend the pistol shots into the texture of the orchestra. Rather than the more usual companion pieces of Mercure and Relâche, Yutaka Sado builds the remaining programme around La belle excentrique and Le piège de Méduse, opting for some of the music-hall-inspired works in between. Pieces like Je te veux and Poudre d’or are familiar in their piano or vocal versions, but rarely get outings in the arrangements for brasserie orchestra, making this a most desirable disc for Satie devotees. Christopher Dingle