Schuman, Ives

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Ives,Schuman
WORKS: Violin Concerto; New England Triptych
PERFORMER: Philip Quint (violin); Bournemouth SO/José Serebrier
CATALOGUE NO: 8.559083
William Schuman’s 1947 Violin Concerto hides episodes of affecting lyricism within two long and diffuse movements. The experienced Serebrier and the talented young Quint are persuasive advocates. And Serebrier clearly revels in Schuman’s more familiar reworkings of Billings (New England Triptych) and Ives. Anthony Burton