Strauss, Weber

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Strauss,Weber
LABELS: Testament
WORKS: Horn Concerto No. 1; Oboe Concerto in D; Bassoon Concerto
PERFORMER: Denis Brain (horn); Leon Goossens (oboe); Gwydion Brooke (bassoon) Philharmonia Orchestra/Alceo Galliera; London Philharmonic Orchestra/Sir Malcolm Sargent
These vintage Strauss recordings were produced by Walter Legge in 1947. Denis Brain gives an account of the First Horn Concerto that’s youthfully fresh yet reflectively mature. Goossens’s eloquently free Andante is admirable, yet his rhythmically unfocused lower register semi-quaver work is unsatisfying, and there could be greater definition in the orchestral tuttis. Gwydion Brooke’s Weber Concerto is a legendary performance, positively accompanied and magnificent in the artistry of its solo contribution. The velvety smoothness of Brooke’s melodic shaping, the exquisite, pearl-like detachment of his staccato runs is exemplary.


These are digitally remastered transfers with minimal surface noise distraction and some useful documentation. Ates Orga