Bach: Harpsichord Concertos BWV 1052-1059

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

LABELS: Sony Essential Classics
WORKS: Harpsichord Concertos BWV 1052-1059
PERFORMER: Igor Kipnis (harpsichord); London Strings/Neville Marriner
CATALOGUE NO: SB2K 53243 ADD (2 discs) (1971)
Kipnis’s enthusiasm for Bach, warmly supported by Marriner and his orchestra, produces enjoyable performances. Sample the radiant cheerfulness of the E major Concerto or the sensitive expression in many of the slow movements. However, the expansiveness of Kipnis’s readings is not always successful. For example, the slow tempo in the second movement of the F minor Concerto seems to impede the music’s natural flow. The balance agreeably focuses on the harpsichord. Nicholas Rast