Bart—k, Shostakovich

COMPOSERS: Bartok,Shostakovich
LABELS: BMG Melodiya
WORKS: Violin Sonata No. 1; Violin Sonata
PERFORMER: David Oistrakh (violin) Sviatoslav Richter (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 74321 34182 2 ADD 1970/74
This marvellous coupling allows us to experience first-hand the intense excitement communicated by these great musicians as they tackled Bartók’s formidable First Violin Sonata in front of an unusually attentive audience in Moscow in 1972. The results are electrifying from first bar to last. Although it’s a pity that Oistrakh and Richter didn’t offer the Second Violin Sonata for good measure, the chance to hear the utterly riveting first performance of Shostakovich’s Violin Sonata shouldn’t be missed.