Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Beethoven/Strauss
LABELS: BMG Melodiya
WORKS: Piano Concerto No. 4
PERFORMER: Maria Grinberg (piano); USSR SO & RTV Large SO/Neeme Järvi
CATALOGUE NO: 74321 40722 2 ADD 1966/76
The USSR RTV Large SO is aptly named. The sound is big, the attitude generous, giving icy Bavarian Strauss a huge Russian bear-hug in vivid and heartfelt performances of two early tone poems. Maria Grinberg and the USSR SO are excellent in the Beethoven concerto, turning in a reading of warmth and intelligence whose spontaneity is only enhanced by a certain D on the piano which gets progressively further out of tune during the performance. Christopher Wood