Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Berlioz/Franck
LABELS: DG Galleria
WORKS: Romeo and Juliet Op.17
PERFORMER: Orchestre de Paris/Daniel Barenboim
CATALOGUE NO: 437 244-2 ADD (1980/76)
French music has always brought out the best in Barenboim as a conductor, and this set is no exception. A warmly Romantic account of Berlioz’s ‘dramatic symphony’, with a fine trio of soloists and attentive chorus and orchestra, is here coupled with three of Franck’s less often heard shorter works, capped by a stunning performance of Le chasseur maudit.Matthew Rye