Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Bruch/Lalo/Vieuxtemps
LABELS: Sony Essential Classics
WORKS: Violin Concerto No. 1
PERFORMER: Pinches Zukerman (violin) Los Angeles PO/Zubin Mehta; LSO/Charles Mackeiras
CATALOGUE NO: SBK 48274 ADD (1970/78)
This well-filled disc displays Zukerman at his best. The Bruch is given a richly Romantic reading, with solid support from Mehta and his American players, while the Lalo comes across with all its colour and rhythmic verve intact. The Vieuxtemps concerto may deserve its relative neglect, but Zukerman and Mackerras do their best to make it memorable. Matthew Rye