Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Bruckner/Hindemith/Brahms
LABELS: EMI Karajan Edition
WORKS: Symphony No. 8
PERFORMER: Berlin PO/Herbert von Karajan
CATALOGUE NO: CMS 5 66109 2 ADD (1958-73)
A contrast in music from the legacy of that podium virtuoso Karajan, the Bruckner symphony is particularly tailor-made for his music-making. There’s both spacious sound and clarity of detail in the Berlin Philharmonic’s burnished brass and the lush strings. As one would expect from Karajan, it is the sombre and tragic moments in the slow movement which highlight this 1957 performance. Also included is a taut reading of Brahms’s Tragic Overture and a brilliant Hindemith Mathis der Maler Symphony. Christopher Fifield