Collection: The Art of Ivry Gitlis

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Bartok,Bruch,Mendelssohn,Sibelius,Tchaikovsky
LABELS: Vox Legends
WORKS: Violin Concertos by Tchaikovsky, Bruch, Sibelius, Mendelssohn & Bartók
PERFORMER: Ivry Gitlis (violin); Vienna SO/Heinrich Hollreiser, Jascha Horenstein, Hans Swarowsky
CATALOGUE NO: Vox Legends CDX2 5505 ADD (2 discs) (1954-57)


Ivry Gitlis enjoyed a formidable reputation during the Fifties, especially as an exponent of 20th-century repertoire. In this generous collection, his considerable violinistic skills are heard to best advantage in superb performances of the Sibelius and Bartók. It’s a pity that the recordings and the orchestral contributions leave much to be desired, but the discs are still worth hearing for the quality of the fiddle playing. Erik Levi