Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Hummel/Schubert/Schumann
LABELS: Hyperion Dyad
WORKS: Piano Quintet, Op. 87; Piano Quintet in A, (Trout); Piano Quintet, Op. 44; Piano Quartet, Op. 47
PERFORMER: Schubert Ensemble of London
CATALOGUE NO: CDD 22008 (1988/93) 118:07 mins (2 discs)
Hyperion’s Dyad series is rapidly gaining ground; critically praised material from the company’s extensive back-catalogue is being reissued in attractive double-disc packages at mid-price, and this new offering is a delight. The Schubert Ensemble of London sounds winningly agile and spontaneous in Schubert’s Trout Quintet, and in the work whose instrumentation it adopted, Hummel’s less popular but nonetheless spirited and impressive Piano Quintet. The Schumann works occupy the second disc, and performances throughout are committed, accomplished, and entirely self-recommending. Michael Jameson