Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Janacek/Holst
WORKS: Sinfonietta; The Planets
PERFORMER: Philharmonia/Simon Rattle
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 7 64740 2 DDD (1983/81)
Rattle’s spectacular Sinfonietta also reappears in another coupling; the brilliant opening fanfares really reach out. This is a truly evocative tour of Janácek’s Brno, including a meltingly beautiful ‘Queen’s Monastery’ and the splendour and excitement of ‘The Castle’. Rattle’s Planets have their moments too, including a menacing ‘Mars’, but much is tentative; ‘Venus’ is a bit faded and ‘Jupiter’ has been jollier. Ian Lace