Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Khachaturian/Prokofiev
LABELS: Philips Collector
WORKS: Cello Concertos
PERFORMER: Christine Walevska (cello); Orchestre National de L’Opéra de Monte-Carlo/Eliahu Inbal
CATALOGUE NO: 434 166-2 ADD (1972)
Prokofiev revised his Cello Concerto as the Sinfonia concertante, which is both a better known and a more coherent work. Here the original piece draws committed playing from Walevska and the Monte Carlo players. In the Khachaturian, the soloist, sympathetically accompanied by Inbal, achieves the panache and sumptuously coloured orientalism with style. This is an attractive coupling. Nicholas Rast