Liszt: Complete Hungarian Rhapsodies

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Philips
WORKS: Complete Hungarian Rhapsodies
PERFORMER: Michele Campanella (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 438 371-2 ADD (2 discs) (1974)
Campanella’s formidable virtuosity ensures that these high-voltage performances are never less than thrilling. The original LPs were unusually good, but remastering adds resplendent brilliance to these superbly idiomatic accounts. While the Rhapsodies Nos. 2 and 14 and the Rákóczy March have always been popular, Campanella’s finesse and imagination constantly enrich one’s appreciation of the entire set. Certainly worth investigating – and a definite must for any Liszt devotee. Michael Jameson