Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Liszt/Schubert
LABELS: Decca Classic Sound
WORKS: Piano Sonata in B minor; Liebestraum No. 3 in A flat; Valse oubliée No. 1; Gnomenreigen; Berceuse
PERFORMER: Clifford Curzon (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 452 306-2 ADD 1963/71
Clifford Curzon’s Liszt beguiles with a dazzling array of faces. His playfulness in the Valse oubliée and Gnomenreigen, orgasmic voluptuousness in the Liebestraum and trance-like calm in the Berceuse convey vivid and essential views of these pieces. He begins the B minor Sonata in a matter-of-fact way, but finds an elusive vein of poetry in intimate moments, while achieving ample sweep and intensity, and provides valuable insights into the expressive aims of Liszt’s pianistic devices along the way. This recital remains a cornerstone of any Liszt collection. David Breckbill