Mozart: Requiem, K626; Mass in C minor, K427

Our rating 
2.0 out of 5 star rating 2.0

WORKS: Requiem, K626; Mass in C minor, K427
PERFORMER: Irmgard Seefried (soprano), Gertrude Pitzinger (alto), Richard Holm (tenor), Kim Borg (bass) (K626); Maria Stader (soprano), Hertha Töpper (contralto), Ernst Haefliger (tenor), Ivan Sardi (bass) (K427)Vienna State Opera Chorus, Vienna SO/Eugen Jochum; S
CATALOGUE NO: 437 389-2 ADD mono/stereo (1956/60)
Mozart’s most searching and sublime liturgical masterpieces, presented here with uniformly leaden Teutonic tedium, a timely reminder, perhaps, of just how far Mozart interpretation and performance have advanced since these recordings were made. Jochum’s 1956 account of the Requiem, an undistinguished affair, dogged by unfathomably slow tempi and dry mono sound, is best overlooked. Fricsay’s mannered eccentricities do little to enhance his 1960 stereo version of the ‘Great’ Mass; decently sung, but with little else in its favour. Michael Jameson