Mozart: Posthorn Serenade K320; Marches in D K335/1 & 2

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Teldec Digital Experience
WORKS: Posthorn Serenade K320; Marches in D K335/1 & 2
PERFORMER: Dresden Staatskapelle/Nikolaus Harnoncourt
CATALOGUE NO: 4509-92149-2 DDD (1984)
Stylish and suitably jubilant accounts of the great Posthorn Serenade, and the two Marches originally intended to accompany it in performance on ceremonial occasions. Harnoncourt directs a largish body of players in amply reverberant surroundings, but inner clarity, definition and overall balance are preserved intact. Harnoncourt is an eloquent and dedicated Mozartian, and his readings combine verve, elegance and unimpeachable musical judgement. Strongly recommended, without the least hesitation. Michael Jameson