Nielsen: Symphony No. 3; Symphony No. 5

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

WORKS: Symphony No. 3; Symphony No. 5
PERFORMER: Ruth Guldbæk, Niels MøllerRoyal Danish Orchestra/New York Philharmonic/Leonard Bernstein
CATALOGUE NO: SMK 47598 ADD (1965/62)
No one delivers the big moments of these exuberant scores with more impact than Bernstein. Thrilling strings, blazing brass, thunderous timpani – and how well he holds it all together! Refinement may not be his strong point, and Bernstein can’t resist occasional expressive underlining, but the dynamism is irresistible. The Danish players match their New York colleagues in virtuosity. One of the best of a generally disappointing batch in Sony’s ongoing Royal Edition. David Michaels