Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Parry/Brian/Foulds
LABELS: Forlane
WORKS: Symphony No. 3 (English); Concertstück for Orchestra; The Tigers (Symphonic Movements); St Joan Suite; Pasquinade symphonique No. 1; Mirage
PERFORMER: Luxembourg RSO/Leopold Hager
CATALOGUE NO: UCD 16724/5 ADD (1981)
Parry’s exuberant English Symphony was once highly popular. Hager has vitality if not the polish of Bamert (on Chandos). Fould’s Mirage is a youthful, pale Also sprach Zarathustra, but the adroit and colourful theatre score for St Joan really impresses (it delighted GB Shaw). The highlight of Brian’s score for the opera The Tigers (an army regiment) is the bitingly satirical ‘Has Anyone Here Seen Kelly?’ variations. The other dance movements are equally brightly inventive. Recommended. Ian Lace