Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Prokofiev
LABELS: Decca Double Decca
WORKS: Romeo and Juliet
PERFORMER: Cleveland Orchestra/Lorin Maazel
CATALOGUE NO: 452 970-2 ADD 1973
Ever since it was first issued in 1973, this account of the complete ballet has held its place at the head of a comparatively small field. If it doesn’t quite have the authentic balletic feel of some of the recordings from theatre orchestras, this is made up for by the sheer vibrancy and life of the Cleveland’s playing. Rhythmic attack is hard-hitting and the Romanticism is played to the hilt, but Maazel keeps a tight rein on the dramatic structure, giving it a sweep more akin to a through-composed opera. The sound is of demonstration quality. Matthew Rye