Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5; Symphony No. 7

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Prokofiev
LABELS: EMI Studio Plus
WORKS: Symphony No. 5; Symphony No. 7
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 5 65181 2 ADD (1975/78)
Previn’s reading of the ever-popular Fifth achieves a fine balance between symphonic gravitas and balletic lightness, and the opening movement in particular is delivered with a sure sense of direction. Even more convincing, however, is the lightweight Seventh, where the conductor draws attention to many intricacies of scoring that are often bypassed in other versions. It’s a pity though that Previn opts to perform the rather brash alternative conclusion to the work. Prokofiev’s original thoughts here are far more touching. Erik Levi