Purcell: Trio Sonatas

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Harmonia Mundi Suite
WORKS: Trio Sonatas
PERFORMER: London Baroque
CATALOGUE NO: HMT 7901439 1993
Purcell’s 12 ‘Sonnata’s of III Parts’ were published in 1683. They are trio sonatas for two violins and a continuo bass, in this instance a bass viol, with organ or harpsichord. Purcell’s stylistic terms of reference in these pieces were markedly Italian but, of course, many distinctive Purcellian features shine through the part-writing and the melodies. London Baroque provides expressive and idiomatic performances of these delightful pieces, effectively ringing the changes between harpsichord and chamber organ. A very welcome reissue. Nicholas Anderson