Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Schubert/Brahms/Liszt
LABELS: DG Masters
WORKS: Fantasie in C, D760 (Wanderer); Four Lieder (transcr. Liszt); Fantasien, Op. 116; Liszt: Hungarian Rhapsody No. 12
PERFORMER: Evgeny Kissin (piano)
Today’s leading young pianistic lion, already a legend in his early twenties, isn’t seen to his best advantage on this disc. The Liszt Hungarian Rhapsody suits his effortless technique very well; but, despite a rich, powerful tone and unfailing sensitivity, the particular emotional climates of Schubert and Brahms still evade Kissin. The Schubert-Liszt transcriptions are played with Lisztian emotional excess rather than Schubertian Innigkeit; the Wanderer Fantasy suffers from a certain lack of rhythmic tautness (though there are glorious sounds in the central slow section); and the Brahms pieces, too, are given heart-on-sleeve readings rather than applying the understated, classical constraint which would suit them better. The flavours of artist and composer don’t mix – well, would you serve trout with chocolate? Jessica Duchen