Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Schubert/Haydn
LABELS: DG Originals
WORKS: Symphony No. 9 in C (Great); Symphony No. 88 in G
PERFORMER: Berlin PO/Wilhelm Furtwängler
CATALOGUE NO: 447 439-2 ADD mono (1952)
Rarely can Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major Symphony have been played with such power and dramatic excitement as it is here. By allowing the musical content to generate its own pace, Furtwängler and the BPO produce an enthralling account, in which the first two movements have a persuasive Romantic sweep, the Scherzo moves with an idiomatically Viennese gait and the finale is vigorously exultant. The BPO is equally effective in Haydn’s Symphony No. 88, with clear detail in the vivacious outer movements, eloquent phrasing in the Largo and an engagingly robust minuet. Both performances have been excellently preserved in vivid Fifties recordings. Nicholas Rast