Schumann: Complete Symphonies

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

LABELS: Erato Duo Bonsai
WORKS: Complete Symphonies
PERFORMER: Suisse Romande Orchestra/ Armin Jordan
CATALOGUE NO: 4509-95357-2 DDD (1990)
Armin Jordan’s lithe athleticism contrasts sharply with the stolid, drably Teutonic Schumann performances (calculated to render the most transparent orchestration all but impenetrable!) familiar until a few decades ago. Sensitive handling of the difficult Fourth Symphony clarifies textures without minimising musical emphasis, while the Suisse Romande violins cope heroically with the virtuoso demands of the Scherzo of the Second Symphony. Jordan is marginally less compelling in the Spring Symphony (No. 1), but brings jubilant, impassioned vigour to Schumann’s five-movement holiday diary, the Rhenish Symphony (No. 3). Digital sound is adequate, though notes are conspicuously absent. Michael Jameson