Stravinsky: Symphonies & Concertos

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Stravinsky
LABELS: Philips Duo
WORKS: Symphonies & Concertos
PERFORMER: Arthur Grumiaux (violin), George Pieterson (clarinet)LSO, Netherlands Wind Ensemble, Amsterdam Concertgebouw Orchestra, Russian State SO/Colin Davis, Edo de Waart, Ernest Bour, Igor Markevitch
CATALOGUE NO: 442 583-2 ADD (1963-75)
Colin Davis and the LSO seem only intermittently engaged in the Symphony in C, though the Symphony in Three Movements is more purposeful. Arthur Grumiaux assumes the varied characters of the Violin Concerto, while Ernest Bour and the Concertgebouw dovetail the accompaniment to his needs. Edo de Waart and the Netherlands Wind Ensemble give punchy performances of the Ebony Concerto and the Symphonies of Wind Instruments. Igor Markevitch’s Symphony of Psalms suffers from out-of-tune playing from the Russian State Symphony Orchestra and crude singing from the Russian State Academy Chorus. Variable sound. George Hall