Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Taneyev/Miaskovsky
WORKS: Suite de concert
PERFORMER: David Oistrakh (violin), Mstislav Rostropovich (cello)Philharmonia Orchestra/Nicolai Malko, Malcolm Sargent
CATALOGUE NO: CDM 5 65419 2 ADD (1975/57)
Classic performances from Abbey Road Studio One and the first decade of the Philharmonia. Oistrakh senior and the legendary Nicolai Malko (under the watchful production eye of Walter Legge) are golden in Taneyev’s demanding Suite de concert. And Rostropovich and Sargent rise eloquently to the weightier, structurally more diverse challenge of the Miaskovsky Cello Concerto. Not particularly innovative music perhaps, nor even very Russian, but as an alternative insight on tsarist/Soviet times dominated otherwise by Tchaikovsky, Rimsky, Prokofiev and Shostakovich, clearly well worth getting to know. Flattering digital remastering. Nice packaging (beware, however, the sketchy inlay notes). Ates Orga