Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1; Violin Concerto

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Tchaikovsky
LABELS: DG Classikon
WORKS: Piano Concerto No. 1; Violin Concerto
PERFORMER: Martha Argerich (piano); Nathan Milstein (violin)RPO/Charles Dutoit; Vienna PO/Claudio Abbado
CATALOGUE NO: 439 420-2 ADD (1971/73)
This is a marvellous disc. Both of these warhorses of the concerto repertoire are given performances of distinction. Martha Argerich and Charles Dutoit take a spacious, richly Romantic view of the Piano Concerto; Nathan Milstein and Claudio Abbado combine exhilarating verve and aristocratic eloquence in what must rate as one of the best renditions of the Violin Concerto available on record. The sound is bright and forward, if a touch lacking in subtlety, but with excellent sleeve notes and at a bargain price, this makes an extremely recommendable issue. Jan Smaczny