Leah Broad

Leah Broad

Journalist, BBC Music Magazine

Social networks

A junior research fellow at Christ Church, University of Oxford, Dr Leah Broad is a historical musicologist, focusing on the people and music at the margins of history. She is currently writing Quartet, a biography of four female composers – Ethel Smyth, Rebecca Clarke, Dorothy Howell and Doreen Carwithen – for Faber. She was a BBC/AHRC New Generation Thinker and winner of the 2015 Observer/Anthony Burgess Prize for Arts Journalism. Broad specialises in theatre music of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, particularly in Scandinavia and the UK.

Recent articles by Leah Broad