Hans Zimmer commissioned for this year’s BBC Ten Pieces

The line-up for this year’s BBC Music initiative for primary school children has been announced


A new set of ten pieces has been revealed today for this year’s BBC Ten Pieces programme, under the title of ‘Trailblazers’. Now in its sixth year, the education initiative hopes to inspire children aged 7-14 as a starting point for them to learn about classical music.  


The programme showcases works throughout history that have redefined the world of music, and this year’s list is hugely varied to show the versatility of classical music throughout the centuries. Every year, BBC Ten Pieces has commissioned a contemporary composer to write a new work. Previous commissions have included Anna Clyne, Anna Meredith and Kerry Andrew. This year, film composer Hans Zimmer has written a new orchestral work for the project, entitled Earth.

‘At the heart of my new piece, Earth is the sound of young voices who underlie the music,’ says Zimmer. ‘Set against the backdrop of our magnificent, precious planet, I hope it will be the perfect springboard to inspire creativity in classrooms across the UK.’

The Ten Pieces Trailblazers:

1) Hans Zimmer: Earth (BBC Ten Pieces commission)

2) George Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue (excerpt)

3) Ravi Shankar Symphony, Finale (excerpt)

4) Delia Derbyshire Doctor Who Theme (original theme composed by Ron Grainger)

5) Antonio Vivaldi 'Winter' from 'The Four Seasons' 

6) Grażyna Bacewicz Overture

7) Steve Reich Music for 18 Musicians (excerpt)

8) Heitor Villa-Lobos Bachianas brasilieras No. 2, Little Train of the Caipira (finale)

9) Florence Price Symphony No. 1 (excerpt)

10) Johannes Brahms Hungarian Dance No. 5