The BBC has revealed the line-up of music for its latest Ten Pieces project.


Works by composers from the Baroque to the modern eras – including Purcell, Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-George, Tchaikovsky, Sibelius and Copland – feature in the latest programme of the popular education scheme, now in its third year. The repertoire list also includes two contemporary works, one of which is a new choral commission by composer Kerry Andrew.

Andrew’s No Place Like sets words from children about their homes, and has been written for a cappella choir.

Kerry Andrew (pictured) has been commissioned to write a work for Ten Pieces III

‘The work includes moments where schools can customise it, depending on where they live,’ says Andrew. ‘The lyrics were adapted from a huge amount of words sent to me by primary school children around the UK. They told me where they were from - everything from 'my mummy's tummy' to 'the Big Bang'. Their contributions were heart-warming and inspiring - a portrait of the nation through the eyes of kids. I’m really excited to imagine that children all around the country will be taking my piece and making it their own. ”

The Ten Pieces scheme – which began with a set of works for primary school aged children in 2014 – has so far reached over four million school children across the UK, sold out four BBC Proms concerts and won a BAFTA for the Ten Pieces II film (below).

Ten Pieces from FLOCKlondon on Vimeo.

The resources for the third wave of the scheme will be made available to the public at the start of the 17/18 academic year. They will include online support for teachers and parents, UK-wide events, the popular coaching scheme led by the BBC’s Orchestras and Choirs and close collaboration with music and arts organisations.

The full list of repertoire included in Ten Pieces III is…

1. Kerry Andrew No Place Like - Commission for a cappella voices

2. Mason Bates Anthology of Fantastic Zoology – Sprite; A Bao A Qu

3. Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges Symphony No. 1 in G major – Allegro (1st mvt)

4. Aaron Copland Rodeo – Hoe-Down

5. Antonín Dvořák Symphony No. 9 in E minor, 'From the New World’ – Largo (2nd mvt)

6. Edward Elgar ‘Enigma’ Variations – Theme (‘Enigma’), variations 11, 6 & 7

7. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky The Nutcracker – Waltz of the Flowers; Russian Dance

8. Carl Orff Carmina burana – ‘O fortuna’

9. Henry Purcell Abdelazer – Rondeau

10. Jean Sibelius Finlandia


For more information, visit the Ten Pieces website.