City Music Foundation has announced the six soloists and ensembles that will be joining its 2014 classical programme.

Clarinettist Joseph Shiner and pianists Dinara Klinton and Samson Tsoy will be the soloists on the scheme, while the Foyle-Stsura violin and piano duo, Y-Squared cello and piano duo and the Kaleidoscope Saxophone Quartet will join as ensembles.

City Music Foundation was founded in last year to provide mentoring to classical, jazz and folk musicians early in their careers. The two-year programmes aim to offer guidance and bespoke projects, from performances to promotion, to successful applicants.

‘We want to encourage artists to think strategically about their careers and the skills they need to progress to the next step,' explains director of City Music Foundation, Alan Watt. 'This might mean a performance opportunity or a recording, but equally it could mean working with an expert in programming or developing social media campaigns.’

Current City Music Foundation artists include recorder player Miriam Nerval, who appeared in the 'Rising Star' feature in BBC Music Magazine's October issue, and pianist Cordelia Williams, who was the piano winner of BBC Young Musician competition in 2006.

This year's artists were selected by a panel of judges led by former City of London Festival director Ian Ritchie and including violinist Jennifer Pike, violist Paul Cassidy, soprano Joan Rodgers and artistic director of the Wigmore Hall John Gilhooly.

More like this

Three jazz artists will also join the foundation. These are percussionist Pedro Segundo, bassist Misha Mullov-Abbado and clarinettist Giacomo Smith.

Photo: B Ealovega