Conductor Sir Simon Rattle, composer Sir Peter Maxwell Davies and pianist Stephen Hough have all been recognised in the 2014 New Year Honours list.

Sir Simon, who is the chief conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic, was given an Order of Merit, an honour which can only be held by 24 people at any time.

Sir Peter, who is Master of the Queen’s Music, was made a companion of honour and pianist Stephen Hough received a CBE.

The pianist tweeted ‘Thank you to everyone who’s sent messages. I’m more touched by the kind words than by the award’.

Other figures from the musical world to be honoured include opera director John Copley, who was made CBE, the founder and director of the Oxford Philomusica Marios Papadopoulos, who was made MBE, and the chief executive of English National Opera, Loretta Tomasi, who was made OBE.

The classical crossover singer, Katherine Jenkins was also awarded an OBE for services to music and charitable services.

Jenkins said: ‘I am incredibly humbled to receive this great honour. To accept such an award after only a decade of service to music and charity, comes as a wonderful surprise.’

For the first time ever, the New Year Honours list included more women than men. The full list can be found here.