Beethoven: Cello Sonatas (complete),

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Beethoven
LABELS: EMI Double Forte
WORKS: Cello Sonatas (complete),
PERFORMER: Jacqueline du Pré (cello), Daniel Barenboim (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: CZS 5 73332 2 ADD Reissue (1976)
I have vivid recollections of hearing Jacqueline du Pré and Daniel Barenboim’s Edinburgh Festival Beethoven cycle in BBC broadcasts of these performances, transmitted in November and December 1970. That their intimacy, spontaneity, and sense of occasion live on in the memory is well and good, but on rehearing them nearly three decades later, it’s good to report that these accounts are every bit as fine as I remember. A sometimes chesty Usher Hall audience notwithstanding, this is among the better Du Pré retropective collections, and these readings, despite some keyboard lapses and expected cellistic indulgences, are still arresting. Recommended. Michael Jameson