Collection: Cello Miniatures

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Børresen,Emborg,Fabricius,Heise,Louis Glass,Nielsen
LABELS: Dacapo
WORKS: Works by Børresen, Emborg, Heise, Fabricius, Louis Glass & Ludolf Nielsen
PERFORMER: Henrik Brendstrup (cello); Per Salo (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 8.224092


No hidden masterpieces here, but this sequence of Danish Romantic salon pieces makes for very pleasant if somewhat monotonous listening. Brendstrup and Salo perform sensitively enough, though only Jacob Fabricius’s charming Massenet-inspired Dormeuse and Louis Glass’s Frühlingslied offer something of individuality. Erik Levi