Glinka, Alabiev

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Alabiev,Glinka
WORKS: Trio pathétique in D minor; Viola Sonata in D minor; Waltz-Fantasia; Variations on a Theme by Alabiev; The Lark; Violin Sonata in E minor
PERFORMER: Adrian Chandler (violin), Norbert Blume (viola), Colin Lawson (clarinet), Alberto Grazzi (bassoon), Olga Tverskaya (fortepiano)
CATALOGUE NO: 111 OPS 30-230
Mostly Glinka, this programme also includes Alabiev’s engaging E minor Violin Sonata. The intimate affinity the performers share for this repertoire vividly evokes the halcyon days of early 19th-century St Petersburg. Period instruments and fine recordings add to the atmosphere. Nicholas Rast