Ravel/Debussy: Piano Trio; Piano Trio No. 1 in G

COMPOSERS: Ravel/Debussy
LABELS: RCA Victor Red Seal
WORKS: Piano Trio; Piano Trio No. 1 in G
PERFORMER: André Previn (piano), Julie Rosenfeld (violin), Gary Hoffman (cello)
CATALOGUE NO: 09026 68062 2 DDD
Starting like decorated Borodin, Debussy’s callow Trio pursues a fascinating search for its own character. It achieves most when least self-conscious. The players give a good impression of being utterly absorbed, but still patronise the raw Scherzo. They project Ravel warmly, without urgency. While enjoying the sonority from moment to moment, they miss the relentless, tragic edge. Full, intimate sound; but the Solomon Trio (IMP MCD 41), by adding Fauré to this coupling, leaves less chance of disappointment. Robert Maycock