Rawsthorne: Piano Quintet; Piano Trio; Viola Sonata

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Rawsthorne
WORKS: Piano Quintet; Piano Trio; Viola Sonata
PERFORMER: Mark Messenger (violin), Helen Roberts, Martin Outram (viola),John McCabe, Julian Rolton (piano); Rogeri Trio
CATALOGUE NO: 8.554352
Imagine a combination of the bleaker Shostakovich and Hindemith without the smile, and you’ll be somewhere close to this grimly determined music, though Rawsthorne’s language is individual and consistent. The performances are committed, even if better tuning would help the ears stay the course. Martin Cotton