Romberg: String Quartets, Op. 1/1, 2, 3

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

LABELS: Dabringhaus und Grimm Gold
WORKS: String Quartets, Op. 1/1, 2, 3
PERFORMER: Leipzig String Quartet
CATALOGUE NO: MDG 307 0963-2
In their day, the Op. 1 quartets of Andreas Romberg (1767-1821) were ranked alongside those of Haydn and Mozart. History has decided otherwise, with good reason. The quartets are euphonious, deftly written and often quite sophisticated harmonically; but the many half-echoes of Haydn only emphasise Romberg’s limited staying-power. First-rate performances from the cultivated Leipzig Quartet. Richard Wigmore