All products and recordings are chosen independently by our editorial team. This review contains affiliate links and we may receive a commission for purchases made. Please read our affiliates FAQ page to find out more.

Benjamin Britten: Choral Works

Jennifer Vyvyan (soprano), Helen Watts (contralto), London Symphony Orchestra/Benjamin Britten

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0
484 0658

Benjamin Britten: Choral Works
Britten Cantata Academica; Hymn to St. Cecilia; Missa Brevis etc
Jennifer Vyvyan (soprano), Helen Watts (contralto), London Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Chorus/Benjamin Britten
Eloquence 484 0658 (1958, 60 & 61)   71.19 mins


Whether as conductor or organist George Malcolm excels, securing a taut account of the inexplicably sidelined Cantata Academica. On Westminster Cathedral home-ground the Missa Brevis radiates authority.

Read more reviews of the latest Britten recordings

Find out more about Britten and his works here


Paul Riley