All products and recordings are chosen independently by our editorial team. This review contains affiliate links and we may receive a commission for purchases made. Please read our affiliates FAQ page to find out more.

Handel’s Messiah & Bach’s Magnificat

London Philharmonic Orchestra, The Kalmar Orchestra/Pierre Colombo

Our rating 
2.0 out of 5 star rating 2.0
484 0411

Handel‘s Messiah and Bach‘s Magnificat
Jennifer Vyvyan (soprano), Norma Procter (contralto), George Maran (tenor), Owen Brannigan (bass-baritone), Eileen McLoughlin (soprano), Heather Harper (soprano), Alfred Deller (counter-tenor), Wilfred Brown (tenor), Maurice Bevan (bass), London Philharmonic Orchestra, The Kalmar Orchestra/Pierre Colombo
Eloquence 484 0411 (1954/55)   200.47 mins (3 discs)


Stentorian and often ponderous, the first of Adrian Boult’s recordings of Messiah is very much of its time, though his London Philharmonic forces are captured in remarkably detailed mono sound.

The best recordings of Handel’s Messiah

Read more of our reviews of the latest Handel recordings here

Find out more about Handel and his work here

Read more of our reviews of the latest Bach recordings here

find out more about Bach and his works here


Paul Riley