Beethoven: Introducing Symphony No. 9

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Beethoven
LABELS: EuroArts
WORKS: Symphony No. 9
PERFORMER: Wulf Konold (commentary); Soloists and choirs, Berlin PO/Claudio Abbado (documentary and performance)
CATALOGUE NO: EuroArts 2056128

An exceptionally good introduction to the Choral Symphony, succinctly providing insight into the music and a sense of how it confounded the expectations of Beethoven’s contemporaries. Christopher Dingle