Handel, A Scarlatti

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: A Scarlatti,Handel
LABELS: Virgin Veritas
WORKS: Cantatas; Sonata in G, Op. 5/4
PERFORMER: Sandrine Piau (soprano), Gérard Lesne (alto); Il Seminario Musicale
CATALOGUE NO: VBD 5 61803 2 Reissue (1991, 1996)
Two formerly separate releases of chamber cantatas by Alessandro Scarlatti and Handel have been united for this excellent reissue. Lesne is one of the most expressive countertenors of his generation and his even shift from falsetto to chest voice is but one feature of his secure vocal technique. Accomplished performances of Handel’s chamber cantatas are not all that plentiful so this clutch of four, including the dramatic La Lucrezia, though here a little underpowered, is all the more welcome. Lesne is joined by soprano Sandrine Piau in the Scarlatti programme. There are many delights in this music, which provided a source for Handel’s own inspiration. Alas, texts are not included. Nicholas Anderson