Jcf Fischer: Musical Parnassus, Vol. 1

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Jcf Fischer
WORKS: Musical Parnassus, Vol. 1
PERFORMER: Luc Beauséjour (harpsichord)
CATALOGUE NO: 8.554218
Francophile Fischer superimposes Lullian dances on purposeful Germanic harmony, in Suites honouring the Muses. Start, perhaps, with ‘eloquent’ Calliope’s Bachian Ouverture and tuneful Ballet. Then, ‘tragic’ Melpomène, lightweight in scale but profound in spirit. Euterpe’s extended final chaconne is imaginatively searching. George Pratt