All products and recordings are chosen independently by our editorial team. This review contains affiliate links and we may receive a commission for purchases made. Please read our affiliates FAQ page to find out more.

JS Bach: Cello Suites Nos 1-6

Jean-Max Clement (cello) (Eloquence)

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0
482 8523

JS Bach
Cello Suites Nos 1-6
Jean-Max Clement (cello)
Eloquence 482 8523 (1960)   109.32 mins (2 discs)

Advertisement MPU reviews

Jean-Max Clément’s late-’50s survey of the Cello Suites for L’Oiseau-Lyre now feel like a last gasp in the pre-HIP, grand rhetorical tradition, with copious espressivo vibrato, tasteful portamenti and soulful sarabandes.

Read more reviews of the latest JS Bach recordings here

Advertisement MPU reviews

Find out more about JS Bach and his works here