Rubinstein: Kammennïy-ostrov, Vol. 1

Our rating 
2.0 out of 5 star rating 2.0

COMPOSERS: Rubinstein
LABELS: Marco Polo
WORKS: Kammennïy-ostrov, Vol. 1
PERFORMER: Joseph Banowetz (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 8.223846
Anton Rubinstein, the now legendary Russian pianist-composer, emerges rather disappointingly from this disc. These 12 pieces are literally portraits – of members of a Grand Duchess’s court – and they could certainly have charm, even if they are not strikingly memorable. Unfortunately, Banowetz’s somewhat heavy-handed and unimaginative playing does them few favours. Jessica Duchen