Sviatoslav Richter Archives, Vol. 17

Our rating 
3.0 out of 5 star rating 3.0

COMPOSERS: Beethoven,Schubert,Schumann
LABELS: Doremi
WORKS: Archives, Vol. 17: Schubert: Fantasia in C, D760 (Wanderer); Schumann: Novelettes Op. 21/1 & 2; Beethoven: Piano Sonatas Nos 7 & 17
PERFORMER: Sviatoslav Richter (piano)


Dry, one-dimensional sound contributes to some disappointment here. There’s dynamism in the live concert situation, and some wit and wisdom respectively in the Beethoven sonatas, but the Schubert feels bashed, the Schumann clunky. Jessica Duchen