Colour Yes

Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Matthew Halsall
LABELS: Gondwana
WORKS: Assorted
PERFORMER: Matthew Halsall (trumpet), Nat Birchall (sax), Adam Fairhall (piano), Gavin Barras (bass), Rachael Gladwin (harp)

Trumpeter Matthew’s Halsall’s popularity, like many jazz acts, has sprung from a club residency. From a monthly stint at Manchester’s Matt and Phred’s, his reputation is now spreading beyond the North West.
His 2008 debut disc Sending My Love led to a recent billing at Ronnie Scott’s with Gilles Peterson. 
On this second disc, there are distinct Coltrane traces, as the quintet’s modal structures are built over the McCoy Tyner-style chords of pianist Adam Fairhall. The atmospheric solos by Halsall and saxist Nat Birchall deliver melodies which hark back to ’60s Brit jazzers and an era of grainy black and white kitchen sink drama – which is here illuminated with crystal clarity.
Rachael Gladwin’s added harp – which she played at Liverpool’s giant-spider installation – lends a shimmering quality. ‘Me and You’ will appeal to fans of electronica duo Air. If you like dreamy grooves with drifting melodies, you’ll love this. Neil McKim